Renaissance

ImageThe was my favorite painting from all the ones that I looked at during this time period. It is Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse by Durer. According to Metmuseum.org this is a version of the passage in the book of Revelation(6:1-8) which describes what happens at the end times when the four horsemen come to earth. The four horsemen were Death, Famine, War and Plague. The painting to me shows some very important details, such as the horse that is closest to the edge is death, with the horse that is skinny and looks ill, trampling over someone on the ground. Here is what is says about the horse of death in Revelation 6:8 And I looked, and behold a pale horse: and his name that sat on him was Death, and Hell followed with him. And power was given unto them over the fourth part of the earth, to kill with sword, and with hunger, and with death, and with the beasts of the earth”. All of the horses look evil in a wicked sort of way. I also noticed immediately the terrified look on the peoples faces as they saw the horses coming for them. Something else that I had not noticed until I looked over this several times was that there is a angel in the sky above the horses following them.

This was done as a woodcut which were common forms of art back in 1497-98 which is when this was done.

 

Sources:

http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/19.73.209

 

About rebekahmitchell2

I am 21, married to the soldier who stole my heart at senior prom and between him, being a full time student, working between 20/40 hours a week and I puppy, I am pretty busy...

2 responses to “Renaissance”

  1. Will says :

    Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse by Durer is an amazing lithograph from the Renaissance. It is worth noting that a large potion of the art from the era was commissioned by either the Catholic Church or the Medici Family.

    For a complete look at all the wood carvings by Durer depicting the book of Revelation check out the video below.

  2. mitchburgess says :

    When I was looking at “Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse” I was also noticed the angle hovering over the apocalypse and looked as if it was concerned about the destruction and death coming from the four horsemen. I wonder what the meaning of it is? I did my blog entry on “Knight, Death, and the Devil” and there was also a heavenly kingdom above death, which seems to be a common thing between these two Durer pieces.

Leave a comment